The Telegraph Quartet's Schoenberg's Saga - String Quartet No. 1

The Telegraph Quartet 
String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7 - Arnold Schoenberg

I. Nicht zu rasch
II. Kraftig
III. Massig langsame Viertel
IV. Massig heiter

Join The Telegraph Quartet for an afternoon of epic proportions! We will be embarking on Schoenberg's masterful first string quartet, a veritable late-romantic "opera" for four. This work is like none other of its kind, clocking in at almost 50 minutes, and it runs the gamut of drama, from intense struggle, to deep isolation, and finally to revelation.

The Telegraph Quartet at the Maybeck
Sunday April 30, 2017 at 3:00pm
This concert is $20 General Admission/$15 Students

​The Telegraph Quartet was formed in September 2013 with a commitment to a passionate approach to standard chamber music as well as contemporary and non-standard repertoire, alike. Described by the San Francisco Chronicle as “…incredibly valuable addition to the cultural landscape” and “powerfully adept… with a combination of brilliance and subtlety”. The Telegraph Quartet was most recently awarded the prestigious Walter W. Naumburg Chamber Music Award in 2016. Furthermore, the quartet won the Grand Prize at the 2014 Fischoff Chamber Music Competition and has since gone on to perform in concert halls, music festivals, and academic institutions across the United States and Europe, from Los Angeles and New York to Italy, at festivals such as the Chautauqua Institute, Kneisel Hall Chamber Music Festival, and the Emilia Romagna Festival. In the winter of 2016, the Quartet was the only American quartet invited as one of a handful of emerging professional string quartets from around the world to perform in Paris, France at the Biennale Quatuors √† Corde, a showcase for major concert presenters of Europe and Asia taking place at the Philharmonie de Paris.